2 more questions for you guys

Did you see this golf club review?

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
DON
2 more questions for you guys
Q. My buddy the rules Czar hooked his drive into the woods (about 220 yards) on #5, a par-5. Unsure of whether the ball would be found, he declared and hit a provisional ball. His provisional ball was mediocre at best (about 160 Yards) but did land in the middle of the fairway. He hit his next shot with his provisional ball before searching for his original drive. He then found his original drive and declared that he would play his original ball. Is this allowed? What should have been the correct ruling? 

What is the correct ruling?

A. Yes, he can play his original ball. The provisional ball is only provisional until the original ball is found.
B. Yes, he can play his original ball even after his second hit of the provisional ball as long as the first hit of the provisional ball was short of where the original ball was anticipated to be.

C. No, he can’t play his original ball. Are you kidding, once he plays his provisional ball a second time, it becomes the ball in play even if the original ball is found.  

And the answer is ...

 

Rules, rules, and more rules
 
Q. Larry finds both his original tee shot and his provisional ball out of bounds. He returns to the tee and puts another ball into play. How many strokes has he now played?

What is the correct ruling?

A. 2 strokes, he will be hitting 3 from the tee box

B. 3 strokes, he will be hitting 4 from the tee box

C. 4 strokes, he will be hitting 5 from the tee box

D. 5 strokes, he will be hitting 6 from the tee box

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Sorry Don,  Catching up here.

Sorry Don,  Catching up here...

Question 1:  B.  You can play any number of strokes with the provisional ball until you hit a stroke PAST where your original ball lies.

Question 2:  2 strokes  + 2 penatlies = 4 strokes now, hitting his 5th from the tee box.

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
Way to go Scott. You got then

Way to go Scott. You got then both corrrect so you win the prize for this month. 

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.