2 more rules for you guys to think about

Did you see this golf club review?

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
DON
2 more rules for you guys to think about

 

Rules, rules, and more rules... 

 

Q. Larry was on the putting green about 6 feet above the hole putting for par. He marked his ball or another player to putt. Larry then replaced his ball on the putting green and the ball was at rest. Larry then backed away to read his putt. At this point, either due to the wind or the slope of the putting green, the ball started to roll and did on its own what Larry probably would have flubbed. The ball rolled into the hole. Larry said, "I'll take that birdie thank you." Scott said, I think not, looks to me like a one-stroke penalty for movement of the ball and you must replace meaning you will now be putting for bogey 

What is the correct ruling?

A. Larry is correct, if the wind or slope caused the ball to move, the ball must be played where it lies, without penalty. The ball was holed out. Larry made a birdie.
B. Scott is correct, a ball that moves merits a one-stroke penalty, and the ball must be replaced to its original position. Larry will be putting for bogey.
C. Both Scott and Larry are incorrect. A ball moved by other than the player incurs no penalty but must be replaced to its original position. Larry will be putting for par.

And the answer is ... Click here to read 

Rules, rules, and more rules

 

Q. Larry’s ball landed in a green-side sand-filled bunker. Before making his stroke, he stepped into the adjacent bunker and took several practice swings to get familiar with the feel of the club impacting through the sand.

What is the correct ruling?

A. There is no penalty. No two bunkers are identical. While Larry took several strokes that tested the sand, he was not testing his bunker.
B. Larry would only incur a penalty if his ball subsequently comes to rest in the bunker that was tested.
C. Larry incurs a penalty of two strokes for testing the condition of a similar hazard

DON
I think the second question

I think the second question is one we did before, but it will not hurt to see if you remember what the correct answer is. The first one is a good one for sure. Good luck with your answers.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Aimee
Aimee's picture
rules

hmmm, on question #1 you left out whether Larry had removed his ball marker before the ball started rolling. If the marker had not been removed, the ball wasn't in play and no penalty. If the marker had been removed, he has to replace his ball where it started, he doesn't get a free birdie. Answer "C"?

Question #2 I'm going to say "C", I think it is illegal to ground a club in a bunker and take a swing even if it is not "your" bunker?

It's not how...it's how many

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
I would go C on #1....and C

I would go C on #1....and C on #2

 

 

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
I agree with both of you on

I agree with both of you on these. but if you click on the link in the post, it will give A as the correct answer for question # 1. I would think that since he had picked up the ball that stroke was DONE. and it would not matter if the ball rolled into the hole after he replaced it. He would have to pick up his ball and re-set it where it was before it moved and then be putting for par. I think the person that posted this question before I found it got it wrong.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Aimee
Aimee's picture
Rules of Golf - ball at rest

Rules of Golf - ball at rest moved (apparently wind is not considered an outside agency)

18-1. By Outside Agency

If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

It's not how...it's how many

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Well...turns out the key is

Well...turns out the key is the definition of an 'outside agency'....Wind is NOT one.

"In stroke play, an outside agency is any agency other than the competitor's side, any caddie of the side, any ball played by the side at the hole being played or any equipment of the side. "An outside agency includes a referee, a marker, an observer and a forecaddie. Neither wind nor water is an outside agency"

 

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator