And the correct answer is ?????

Did you see this golf club review?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
DON
And the correct answer is ?????

A question about golf for everyone. 

 

Q. Larry and I were playing golf on a course we had not previously played. We both mistakenly teed off on what we thought was the 5th hole. We immediately noticed that we were actually on the hole number 11. Is there a penalty for mistakenly teeing off on the wrong hole? What should we have done?

What is the correct ruling?

A. No penalty. This is an honest mistake. Re-tee on the correct hole.
B. One stroke penalty
C. Two stroke penalty
D. Finish playing the hole. Later play the correct hole. No penalty.

​And the correct answer is ?????

scomac
scomac's picture
This has happened to me in

This has happened to me in the past and we just finished playing the hole with no penalty.  We ended up playing the hole we should have been on when we came back around for the second nine.  There really was no other practical solution as the course was full, but I suspect that the "rules" would have stated otherwise.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Where's the option for DQ'ing

Where's the option for DQ'ing both players? 

I would say 2 stroke penalty for each hole played out of sequence.  You could consider it practicing the course the day of the event because you now know how the green breaks, etc. 

 

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
 

 

I have to agrre with Sco on this one as I too think it would make sense to just play the hole you teed off on, OR forget that ball and go back and hit a new ball on the hole you were supposed to be playing from the correct tee box.

BUT that is just my opinion on what would make sense. The CORRECT answer is C. a two stroke penality for hitting your tee shot from OUTSIDE THE TEEING AREA.  You then need to go back to the correct tee box and hit a second ball, hitting THREE. NOT my idea of a reasonable way to do it, but it's in the rule book. 

I am assuming that they ONLY played the one hole, and didn't play all the rest of the course out of order, as that would open up a new larger can or worms. 

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Ahhh, that makes sense.  Your

Ahhh, that makes sense.  Your not on the proper hole so any shot you hit would be hitting outside the teeing area.  OK....

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator