Another US Open and another rules violation that factors into the result..

Did you see this golf club review?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Another US Open and another rules violation that factors into the result..

SAN MARTIN, Calif. -- Just when it seemed as if the U.S. Women's Open would come down to the final hole of the three-hole playoff, a rules violation changed everything and helped deliver Brittany Lang her first major title.

Lang was the beneficiary of a delayed, two-stroke penalty called on Anna Nordqvist on Sunday, as she won the title she was so close to seizing when she was runner-up 11 years ago as an amateur.

"You never want to win with a penalty or something like that happen, especially to Anna, who is a friend of mine and a great player and a classy girl," Lang said. "But it's unfortunate. It's part of the game and it happened that way."

When Anna Nordqvist grounded her club in the bunker on the second hole of a three-hole aggregate playoff, it allowed LPGA veteran Brittany Lang to finally capture her first major.

Lang made par on all three holes of the aggregate playoff and Nordqvist was given a two-stroke penalty for touching the sand with her club in a fairway bunker on the second playoff hole, helping deliver Lang the title.

The players were not told of the penalty until they were in the middle of playing the final hole, after officials reviewed replays in the latest controversy at a USGA event after the delayed penalty called in the final round on eventual men's U.S. Open winner Dustin Johnson last month.

"Seemed kind of unreal that it happened, but it does," Nordqvist said. "It wasn't any reason to question it. But I'm certainly disappointed of the timing of it."

Lang then sealed the win with a short par putt on the final playoff hole, while Nordqvist made bogey to lose by three shots.

Lang shot a 1-under 71 to finish with a 6-under 282 for the tournament at CordeValle for her second win in 287 tournaments on the LPGA Tour. She survived a bogey on the 17th hole that led to the playoff before recovering in the playoff for a breakthrough win at age 30.

"I think this is absolutely huge, a huge momentum builder to say you won the U.S. Open," Lang said. "I think this is a huge, a huge step in the right direction for my career."

Both players made pars on the first hole of the playoff, which was played on the final three holes of the course. Then things got interesting on the next hole after Nordqvist hit her tee shot into a fairway bunker.

While preparing to hit the shot, Nordqvist's club barely touched the sand. She did not realize it and both players made par on the hole, heading to the final playoff hole seemingly tied.

But after seeing a replay, broadcaster Fox asked the USGA if there was a violation. That led USGA official John Bodenhamer to go to the television truck to see a replay, which showed the violation that was not evident on the live broadcast or to the official watching the hole in person.

Bodenhamer then said he decided to immediately tell the players, but the news got to Nordqvist after she hit her third shot at 18 and before Lang did. Nordqvist said she would have been more aggressive going for the pin if she knew she needed birdie. Lang changed clubs for a safer approach shot, knowing a par would win the tournament.

"It certainly changed her game plan," Nordqvist said. "But, you know, hopefully we can all learn from it and hopefully we can all get better."   Lang hit her shot onto the green and then two-putted for the win, getting hearty congratulations from many of her fellow Americans on tour after she joined Michelle Wie (2014) as the only U.S. golfers to win the Open in the past six years.

DON
 f​'m getting rather tiied of

 f​'m getting rather tiied of all this watch the video crap. If the player didn't feel her club touch the sand and the offical didn't see it touch the sand, then it did NOT really effect the shot at all. Granted, it's against the rules to TEST the sand, but this was surely NOT the case in this bunker. She didn't even know she did it. When is this TV video review garbage going to stop?????

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Yeah, it took a HD camera and

Yeah, it took a HD camera and someone at Fox who happened to be using it to see it.  To me, it's unfair that not ever other play is under the same scrutiny.  The leaders have cameras following them all the time and are the ones mostly subject to this situation.  Seems unfair to subject players to different elements of monitorng

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

scomac
scomac's picture
The powers that be are

The powers that be are ruining the game with this slavish infatuation with technology when it comes to rules violations.  Even the instant replay in other "fast action" sports is leaving a lot to be desired.  

What we're seeing is that one bad call is ultimately resulting in the questioning of all calls that are pretty darned good on balance.  We haven't really gained a thing, but at least we're more precise!  :p

DON
I think it's kind of Funny

I think it's kind of Funny how the USGA and the PGA imbraces new technology when it comes to Video Replay and Super Slow motion cameras, but they do not think too much of modern tochnology when it comes to GPS and Lasers for use in tour events. I wonder what they would say if a Caddy pulled out a Laptop to look up the same information they get from their yardage books that ALL players use to tour??? Exact same data, just a digital form of a notebook.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.