Do You know the rules????

Did you see this golf club review?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
DON
Do You know the rules????
Q. You are about to putt and ask your opponent or fellow competitor to attend the flagstick. They decline and say the will not attend the flag. What is the ruling?
What is the correct answer?

A. Get over it. This is competition, an opponent or fellow competitor is not required to help you out. If you are so far away that you can't see the hole, chances are you will not make the putt, so just lag it toward the pin. If you can see the hole, just go move the pin yourself.

B. Ridiculous, an opponent of fellow competitor is required to tend the flag. refusal to do so results in their disqualification and loss of round.
 

And the answer is ... 

 
Question # 2
 
Q. Scott asked Larry to pull the pin for his putt. Scott's putt skirted past the hole coming to rest just off the green. Scott, still "away" asked Larry to put the flag back in the hole. Larry said “once a pin is pulled for you, and you putt, the pin cannot be replaced for you until after you hole a putt.” Scott disagreed say that the pin only needed to be removed when on the green for the practical reason of avoiding the two stroke penalty for hitting a pin while putting on the green. Scott reasoned that since he was off the green, no penalty would accrue should he hit the pin, so it could be replaced. He further said he did not believe there was a rule requiring him to keep playing with the pin out of the hole once it is removed. What is the ruling?

What is the correct answer?

A. Larry is correct. The rules require that once a golfer takes a stroke after having the pin pulled, each subsequent attempt to sink the ball, rather on or off the green, requires the pin to remain pulled. Violation of this rule incurs a 1 stroke penalty for each stroke taken with the pin in the hole.

B. Scott is correct, there is no rule requiring a pin to be pulled, or if pulled to remain out of the hole until the ball is holed. There is however a two stroke penalty (stroke play) or loss of hole (match play) if the pin is struck by a ball played from the green.
 

And the answer is

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
For #1, I'd say A. 

For #1, I'd say A. 

 

For #2, I'd say A again.   It's probably B but I'll say A because we track  putts on a green and if somoene putts off the green their next putt still counts as a putt even though it's off the green.  And putts which strike the pin left in the hole are penalties.

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
Scott; Is that the Offiical

Scott; Is that the Offiical rule for counting putts on tour, or is that what you do? To be honest, I NEVER throught about it one way or the other. I can see reasons for counting the next stroke as a putt after rolling the ball off the green, but I can see a reason not to count it as a putt also.    Rolling a putt off the green is pretty rare for most golfers so I don't think it would matter much either way, but I'm now curious how the PGA looks at it.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

DON
A and B

Scott, You should have gone with B for # 2. You had the right idea ans should have goen with you gut.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
So usually we play a putting

So usually we play a putting game, called poker.   And what's important is actual "putts". Official putts.   Not shots taken with a putter from off the putting surface like the fringe.  And once you've started "putting" everything after that is a putt.  For us it is.  That's because if I putt poorly on the first and knock the ball off the green, I should not be rewarded with the next stroke not counting as a putt since it started from off the green and being able to chip it close and have a tap-in for the second "putt".   3 putts cost money so we would not give a player that sort of reward.    In terms of whether that's the PGA's definition, I've found both answers online:

Example 1:  Any stroke after hitting the green counts as a putt even if you putt it off the green. Also, if you putt from the fringe or fairway and hole out it counts as a 0-putt because you had not yet reached the green.

 

Example 2: Rachel tees off on a par four. Her second shot reaches the green. But it's a slanted green and the pin placement is such that it is quite possible to miss the hole when putting and roll right off. Indeed, this is precisely what happens. Rachel's third shot is a putt that rolls completely off the green. She uses her putter to bump the ball back onto the green and very close to the hole. That was her fourth shot. She taps in for a bogey five.

How many putts?

Answer: two

The third shot and the tap in were putts. The bump to get back onto the green was not a putt, despite the fact she used a putter to make the stroke.

example 3:  When the USGA runs a Championship in which putts are counted, all strokes are counted as putts once a player’s ball is on the green. Even if one of those putts rolls off the green, the next stroke will count as a putt. However, this way of counting is not set in stone. The Committee running your events is in charge of determining how to count putts.

 

 

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator