Do you know the rules???

Did you see this golf club review?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
DON
Do you know the rules???
 
Q. Larry was about 10 yards off the green preparing to chip. He asked Scott to pull the pin. Scott pulled the pin and laid it about 15 yards to the right of the hole. Larry flubbed his chip, and his ball went right at the pin, striking it. Scott apologized to Larry saying he had no idea that the pin might be struck. He followed that up with a, Guess I cost you two strokes.

Of course, that's when the conversation got lively. I'll spare you the details. Bottom line, Larry was adamant that there was no penalty. 

What is the correct ruling?

A. Larry is correct, no penalty. A penalty for hitting the flag pole can only happen if you are putting on the green.

B. Scott is correct; Larry incurs a two-stroke penalty for hitting the flag stick that he requested to be pulled.

C. Both Larry and Scott are incorrect; the correct penalty should be one-stroke.

And the answer is 

 

 

Rules, rules, and more rules
 
Q. Larry, Scott and I were playing golf this past weekend. On #4, a 360-yard par 4, Scott’s tee shot left him about 150 yards from the hole. He asked if anyone could see the flagstick. None of us could see the stick. Scott proceeded to hit a beautiful 6 iron to the green. When we got to the green, we found the flagstick on the green with Scott's ball resting against it. Scott’s ball had obviously hit/contacted the pin. The flagstick must have been left out by the previous players or had been replaced incorrectly and blown over.
 
Larry said, “bad luck Scott, hitting the flagstick is going to cost you two strokes. Was Larry correct? What is the correct ruling

What is the correct ruling?

A. No penalty. Scott can’t be held responsible for hitting the flagstick with his ball when hitting from off the green.

B. One stroke penalty. Hitting a flagstick laying on the green with your ball results in a one stroke penalty in stroke play and loss of hole in match play.

C. Two stroke penalty. Larry is correct, hitting a flagstick laying on the green with your ball results in a one stroke penalty in stroke play and loss of hole in match play.

 

DON
It's been a few months since

It's been a few months since I last posted any of these rules questions, and these are pretty easy ones this time. Any one want to post the answers ??

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Sorry Don...been busy with

Sorry Don...been busy with work...haven't spent as much time on the site as I should.   I'll give is a crack...

 

1)  ofcourse I go with B...Scott was correct!  when I'm not, I change the rules!  ha.   but as I understand it, when I'm asked to tend the pin, I am by rule part of Larry's 'team' and therefore anything I do that screws up a rule puts the infraction on him.

 

2)  A.   I should play the ball as it lies but not be penalized a stroke.

 

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
NO need to change the rules

NO need to change the rules this time Scott, you got them both Correct on the first try. I'm a bit surprised no one else gave it a try. 

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.