Do YOU know the rules here?

Did you see this golf club review?

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
DON
Do YOU know the rules here?
Q. Larry and Scott were both on the green in regulation, a rare occurrence. Larry was away. He asked Scott to move his ball mark a couple of putter heads to the right as it was in his line of putt. Larry’s 11 foot putt went in for birdie. Scott set his ball down, lifted his marker and putted. His ball also dropped into the cup. Never before had these two made birdie on the same hole at the same time. Of course Scott was elated. But just for 10 seconds. Larry pointed out to Scott that he had not moved his ball marker back to its original position, meaning Scott had putted from the wrong place.
       Larry said, "that will be a one stroke penalty and you will have to put again, this time from the correct position."
       Of course, this is when the fun began. Larry was accused of setting the scene trapping Scott into making the error. Scott then argued that there really should not be a penalty as he was accommodating a fellow competitor and he had not gained any advantage.

What is the correct ruling?

A. No penalty.

B. One stroke penalty, return ball to original position and putt again.

C. Two stroke penalty, return ball to original position and putt again.

E. One stroke penalty, however the putt counted, add one stroke to Scott's score for the hole.

D. Two stroke penalty, however the putt counted, add two strokes to Scott's score for the hole.

And the answer is ...  

 
Rules, rules, and more rules... 
 
Q. Scott hit his shot into the rough. He found what he thought was his ball. The ball he found was the same brand and number as the ball he plays. He proceeded to hit the ball.
       Almost simultaneously with Scott’s hit, and about five yards behind “Scott’s ball,” Larry found an identical ball to the one Scott had been playing. Larry asked Scott to identify which of the seemingly identical balls was his.
       Since Scott does not mark his golf ball, Scott could not with certainty say which was his. How does Scott proceed?

What is the correct ruling?

A. Two stroke penalty, play on.

B. Two stroke penalty for hitting the wrong ball, put another ball in play under stroke and distance. Total penalty, three strokes.

C. One stroke penalty, play on.

E. One stroke penalty for hitting the wrong ball, put another ball in play under stroke and distance. Total penalty, two strokes.

D. No penalty, since there is no certainty that the wrong ball was hit, play on.

And the answer is

DON
Nothing guys???

It's been almost a week since I posted these two queasiton, and NO one has come up with a guess or two. Come on people, it's snow out there back east so I know you are NOT out playing golf. Take a few minutes and make a few guesses.

 

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
I go with "B" for the first

I go with "B" for the first one.  I get a stroke penalty, erase the putt and putt again.  But could be "C"....

 

 

For the Second, I again go with "B".   I should be able to clearly identify my ball at all times, and can move the ball for the purpose of that identification, but cannot clean it during that process.  If I can't identify my ball, I think you go with "B", two strokes, stroke and distance.

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
ONE RIGHT

You got one of them right Scott. now it's up to the rest of you to figure out which one he got right and what the correct answer is for the other one. Any ideas.???

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Dang....only one of them? 

Dang....only one of them?  are you sure?  

 

Ok, well there was that game show where you could use 'life lines' and call and ask your friends..so I will offer the following sage advice to the rest of the group in hopes of an answer....

1) I've always heard if you play the wrong ball, it's a 2 stroke penalty...not saying i was right on Question 2 but...

2) I know there is a penalty for not replacing your ball mark before you putt...but whether that's a 1 or 2 stroke penalty, hmmmmm

I'd bet I'm right on #2....

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
Think back to maybe 2 years

Think back to maybe 2 years ago on the PGA Tour. The winner of the event, moved his ball marker to let his playing partner putt, then he FORGOT to move it back again before he putted. It was NOT noticed until AFTER the event was over. Good news is that the winner was I believe 4 strokes ahead, so when he was given a TWO stroke penalty he still won the event. So the correct answer is B, a two storke penalty and the putt counted as he played it.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.