Let's try two more everyone.

Did you see this golf club review?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
DON
Let's try two more everyone.

Paralysis by Analysis

 

 

Rules, rules, and more rules... 

 

Q. Larry's golf ball was lying in the rough, behind an immovable object, within a foot of the fairway. Larry declared that he was allowed to, and would, take relief from the immovable object. He picked up his ball, extended his arm and dropped the ball within one-club length of the nearest point of relief, but not nearer the hole. However, of the several areas of the arc he could have chosen, Larry picked an area that insured his ball would land in the fairway. Larry has been known to test the limits and on occasion the spirit of the rules of golf. Scott thought this might be such an occasion and said, "Larry, no problem with taking relief, but you are in the rough and must stay in the rough. Relief from an obstruction does not mean you can also improve your lie." 

What is the correct ruling?

A. Scott is correct. Larry can not improve his lie while taking relief. He must re-drop his ball, his ball was laying in the rough, and his relief drop must also be in the rough.
B. Larry did nothing wrong. In taking his relief, he was free to drop his ball anywhere within one-club length of the nearest point of relief, just as long as the ball was not dropped closer to the hole than the ball position from which he was taking relief.
 

Rules, rules, and more rules

 

Q. In a stroke play situation, Larry casually attempted to putt/tap-in his ball which was only 8 inches from the hole, for a par-4. His putter hit the ground and stopped. He then pushed the ball into the hole with his putter. That's when the big discussion started. After all, we were playing for $1.00 a hole.

What is the correct ruling?

A. Larry contended that the initial putt/tap-in did not count as it wasn't a full "swing"/putt. His tap-in push putt holed out for a par-4.

B. Larry's putt that hit the ground and stopped should be counted as a putt. His "push in putt" should be counted as a putt. Larry holed out with a bogey 5.

C. Larry's putt that hit the ground should be counted as a putt. His "push in putt" should be counted, but the rules prohibit such action, so add a penalty stroke. Larry holed out with a double-bogey 6.

D. Larry's putt that hit the ground should be counted as a putt. His "push in putt" should be counted, but the rules prohibit such action, the penalty is two strokes. Larry holed out with a triple-bogey 7.
 

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Forn #1 .. I go with B...

Forn #1 .. I go with B....mainly because I've heard the rules are there to HELP golfers as much as hurt them...and if Larry picked a 'nearest point of relief that hapened to get him into the fairway' so be it.

 

For #2, I wanted to go with B as well but i think D might be it.  His intent to make a putting stroke counts.. So that's 5...plus his illegal stroke which was 6 plus the penalty. making it 7? 

 

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
  Again you got them both

  Again you got them both correct. with B and then D. It's too bad no one else seems to be very interested in these rules questions. The last time I posted a rules question you were the only one to post a reply and now you are the only one again. Not sue why we don't have any others interested in this site these days. Sad to see the lack of interest in all sections of the forum I"m afraid. 

 

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Well sad to say I've probably

Well sad to say I've probably made most of these rules violations before so maybe that's why I keep getting them right.  

 

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
On the PLUS side, at least

On the PLUS side, at least that means you are learning from your mistakes. NOT everyone can say that.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.