More rules to think about.

Did you see this golf club review?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
DON
More rules to think about.

Q. Scott had no sooner hit his tee shot from #4 tee box when Larry said, “Scott, your left foot was in front of the tee box when you hit your tee shot. That’s going to cost you two strokes and you must tee up again.” Scott protested saying his ball was in the tee box, so there should be no penalty. 

What is the correct ruling?

A. No Penalty. Scott is correct, the ball was in the tee box. He does not have to be in the tee box when he hits the ball. 
B. One stroke penalty. Scott was outside the tee box. The penalty for teeing up and hitting from outside the tee box in stroke play is one stroke.
C. Two strokes penalty. Scott was outside the tee box. The penalty for teeing up and hitting from outside the tee box in stroke play is two strokes.
And the answer is ???

 

Q. Larry was about to hit his shot. He put his club down and walked over to his pull cart and moved it forward. He then went back and hit his ball. Scott asked Larry why he moved his cart. Larry responded that the flickering shadows cast by the tree limbs moving in the wind were distracting. He moved his cart so that he would have a permanent shadow rather than a flickering shadow over his ball. At that point, Scott said, “Too bad Larry, that’s going to cost you two strokes.

What is the correct ruling?

A. No penalty. Moving your cart or other equipment to protect you from the elements, wind, rain, sun, etc. is permissible, kind of like wearing sun glasses or a hat.
B. One stroke penalty. A player may not deliberately position anything or anyone to protect him from the elements.
C. Two strokes penalty. A player may not deliberately position anything or anyone to protect him from the elements.

And the answer for this one is ????

It's been some time since I last posted any questions for you guys, and Spring golf is about to start so I decided to see if you have two good answers for these rules questions. What have you to say ??? 

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Thanks Don. Should learn

Thanks Don. Should learn something here.  I have a friend I play with sometimes and almost always he will tee the ball up about 2 inches infront of the markers at some point.  I've always heard that's what mattered, but my stance, so I'll go with

A

 

For the second..now that's a tricky one.  Moving the cart out of my line of site would be fine.  But in this case I admitted I was moving it to prevent shadows from affecting my swing and site.  I think that's probably a 1 stroke penalty...but that's a guess

 

 

 

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
Anyone else want to make pick

Anyone else want to make pick on these two ???? 

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

DON
I'm sorry to see that NO one

I'm sorry to see that NO one else has posted a vote on these two questions. The correct answer to # 1 is as Scott said, A, NO penality.

The correct answer for # 2 is C. a two stroke penality. The weird thing is that IF the golfer had placed his cart where he later moved it to, and didn't do it for the reason he did, it would have been okay. Because he moved it to create a shadow that was what make if a violation of the rules. 

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.