practice during play

Did you see this golf club review?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
practice during play

So pro's are not allowed to 'practice' during play, meaning they can't take a ball and hit their 8I down an open fairway.  They can swing the club but not hit a ball, with the exception of chipping on a tee box.  That seems to be allowed.  And you can putt the green you just finished as long as you don't cause undo delay for those behind you.

 

So what about during suspension of play ?   Seems like I saw some of the players warming up on the range which would make sense....

DON
NO donuts allowed

I remember seeing where a golfer on the LPGA tour was either disqualified or given a penality for using a donut weight on her club to warm up after a rain delay. Seems that AFTER she teed off on the first hole she could NO longer use the donut to loosen up even after the rain delay. Seems a bit dumb to me, but that's the rule as it was stated by the annouchers on TV. I can't think of the ladiy's name at the moment but she we the captain of the U.S Solheim Cup team a few years ago. Tall, thin, with short dark hair. I can see her face but can't think of her name. for some odd reason.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Aimee
Aimee's picture
donut

might have been Juli Inkster with the donut weight?

It's not how...it's how many

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
yeah, you can't use any

yeah, you can't use any traiing aides during the round,...seems like I heard of a PGA player with the same issue..... but during the delays it seemed like people were loosing up on the range...

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
Correct Aimee

Thank you Ainee, I was going nuts trying to think of her name. Very nice lady, and one of the last players I'd want to see get a penality for such a silly mistake. I know one fo the annoucners said she could have just swung TWO clubs to get the same warm-up effect and not the penality. Hard to say exactly why she used the donut unless she was thinking ti would be okay with the rain delay to do so. Big price to pay to learn a lesson in rules watching. I have to (wonder) if someone turned her in or if an official saw her doing it. I know that if I was there, I might have mentioned to her that she could NOT use the donut, but I sure would NOT report it and get her in trouble for a simple mistake that didn't really HELP her in any way.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.