THE QUESTION OF THE WEEK IS...

Did you see this golf club review?

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
DON
THE QUESTION OF THE WEEK IS...

THE QUESTION OF THE WEEK IS...

Hitting both your ball and a hidden ball with the same stoke
Larry’s ball was in a sand bunker. Not an unusual occurrence for Larry. What was unusual was that his stroke carried not only his ball to the green, but also dislodged another ball that was hidden under his ball. So he hit his ball and a second ball that wasn’t his. And then the rules quiz guessing began.
A. Larry must play his ball as it lies. There is no penalty.
B. Larry must recreate the original lie of his ball (minus the second ball) and re-hit his ball, without penalty.
C. Larry incurs a two stoke penalty for hitting a ball that was not his own, he must replay the ball from its original position in the sand bunker.
D. C. Larry incurs a two stoke penalty for hitting a ball that was not his own, he must play his ball as it lies.
Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
I remember seeing a rules

I remember seeing a rules question like this sometime...I would start with Answer A because he didn't intentionally knowingly hit the second ball.  So I'd say the hidden ball become "part of the course" like a root of a tree and he plays his ball as it lies with no penalty for unearthing the "Emily Earheart " golf ball!

 

 

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
10 Points bonus for Scott

Scott is CORRECT and wins a 10 point bonus for his correct answer. Not sure what Scott can get with his bonus points but at least he has them.

I remember this exact thing happening a few years ago oon Tour.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.