Rule time again

Did you see this golf club review?

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
DON
Rule time again

Q. My buddy the rules Czar hooked his drive into the woods (about 220 yards) on our number 5, par 5 hole. Unsure of whether the ball would be found, he declared and hit a provisional ball. His provisional ball was mediocre at best (about 160 Yards) but did land in the middle of the fairway. He hit his next shot with his provisional ball before searching for his original drive. He then found his original drive and declared that he would play his original ball. Is this allowed? What should have been the correct ruling? 

What is the correct ruling?

A. Yes, he can play his original ball. The provisional ball was only provisional until he found his original ball 
B. Yes, he can play his original ball even after his second hit of the provisional ball as long as the first hit of the provisional ball was short of where the original ball was anticipated to be.
C. No, he can't play his original ball. Are you kidding, once he plays his provisional ball a second time, it becomes the ball in play even if the original ball is found.

And the answer is ... 

 

Q. Larry’s ball landed in a green-side sand-filled bunker. Before making his stroke, he stepped into the adjacent bunker and took several practice swings to get familiar with the feel of the club impacting through the sand.

What is the correct ruling?

A. There is no penalty. No two bunkers are identical. While Larry took several strokes that tested the sand, he was not testing his bunker.
B. Larry would only incur a penalty if his ball subsequently comes to rest in the bunker that was tested.
C. Larry incurs a penalty of two strokes for testing the condition of a similar hazard.

And the answer is

I hope we can get few of you to come up with the correct answers to these rather easy questions. 

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
I know the first 1...it's B. 

I know the first 1...it's B.  He can hit the provisional one or twice, as long as he has NOT played past the point of his original ball that he wants to put in play again when found.

 

For #2..C.  I've always heard you can't test the conditions of the bunker, intentionally, so I'll go C

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
Any One else with an answer

Any One else with an answer to these qustuions ? I'll wait a few more days before I post the correct answer to each.Does anyone out there believe Scott is correct with his two picks ???

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

DON
Well, It's been two days and

Well, It's been two days and no one have psoted an answer since my last post here. So I'll give you the correct answers to each.

The correct answer to both questions is C.   Scott got # 2 correct but missed on #1. Once he hit a second shot on the provisional ball, it then BECAME his ball in play, and he can NOT play his oringinal ball. 

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Ahhhh.  So if he plays a ball

Ahhhh.  So if he plays a ball past the point he lost the original ball or he hits the provisional ball a second time.  That's a nuance I didn't know.

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
The reason for this rule is

The reason for this rule is simple really. Let's say your playing partner decides to play a shot with his provisional ball and hits it into the lake and it's lost. More often than not he better off to go find the original ball and play that ball, and you would not want him to be able to do that, so this rule prevents that. 

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.