Two more Questions on the Rule of Golf

Did you see this golf club review?

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
DON
Two more Questions on the Rule of Golf
Q. Larry’s ball came to rest in the sand bunker tucked up next to a dead mouse. Larry of course argued that it was not right for him not to be able to move the mouse that impeded a clean hit of the ball, as if he ever makes a clean hit. Scott countered that the mouse was a loose impediment and removing a loose impediment would be penalized.
What is the correct answer?

A. Scott is correct; the mouse is a loose impediment. You may not remove a loose impediment from a bunker when your ball lies in the same bunker. Remove the mouse….one stroke penalty.

B. Scott is correct; the mouse is a loose impediment. You may not remove a loose impediment from a bunker when your ball lies in the same bunker. Remove the mouse….two stroke penalty.

C. Scott is incorrect. Larry is allowed to move the mouse without penalty.

And the answer is ... 

 
 
 
Q. In stroke play, Larry was in the process of taking relief from ground under repair through the green. However, before he dropped the ball, he removed sand and loose dirt from the area in which he dropped the ball. Was Larry's action a rules violation. What is the ruling?

What is the correct answer?

A. There is a one stroke penalty.

B. There is a two stroke penalty.

C. There is no penalty.

And the answer is

DON
Nothing ?????

I'm a bit surprised that NONE of you have posted answers to these rules questions. i posted another question since i posted these 2 and no replys to that question either. Give them a shot, no one will hold it against you if you're wrong.

 

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
For the first question I'd

For the first question I'd say "C" and to fire the grounds keepers!!!

 

For the Second question, I'd say C.   I think i'd seen people remove twigs and leaves before..so I'll go with C
 

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

scomac
scomac's picture
I'll say there's no penalty

I'll say there's no penalty with the mouse, but there is a penalty on the second question of two strokes for groundskeeping the relief area before the drop.

DON
There would be a TWO stroke

There would be a TWO stroke penally for each question. Answer B is correct for both. Sorry guys.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Really?    OK, so didn't

Really?    OK, so didn't think there were that many 2 stroke penalty situations in golf.   So here's a concise version of those I found on Golfsmith's website:

 

Two-Stroke Penalties in Golf

by Robert Preston, Demand Media

Bringing your club to rest in the bunker is one way to receive a two-stroke penalty.

Bringing your club to rest in the bunker is one way to receive a two-stroke penalty.

Overview

Golf is unique among sports in that it relies on players to call penalties on themselves. While professional tournaments will have officials on hand to help spot violations and clarify rules, for local players, the onus is on the player to know and obey the rules of the game.

Interference Penalties

When struck off of the face of a golf club, a ball is expected to be allowed to travel along its driven path without obstruction as a result of the actions of a player, be it the player that struck the ball or one of the other players in the group. A golfer can fall victim to a two-stroke penalty if she fails to properly monitor the location of the flag when on the green, and the ball accidentally strikes it. The penalty applies whether the flag is in the hole and has failed to be removed, or if the flag was removed, laid down, and then the golfer strikes it accidentally with a putt. A golfer can be penalized two strokes if he interferes with another player's shot by hitting the ball or causing something else, such as a club or bag, to hit the ball.

Ball Location Penalties

Proper marking of a ball is essential, whether it involves marking a ball's position on the green or the unique markings drawn on a ball to identify it. A player who plays a ball that isn't hers is subject to a two-stroke penalty. This rule does not apply in a hazard, such as a bunker, where a buried ball cannot be properly inspected. A player can also be penalized two strokes for playing his ball from the wrong location. This occurs most commonly on the green, when a player moves a ball mark out of another player's line, then forgets to move it back before replacing the ball.

Hazard-Related Penalties

Hazards can also subject players to two-stroke penalties if a player is not careful. Placing the club head down in a bunker, unless it is in the act of striking the ball, results in a two-stroke penalty. A golfer is similarly penalized two strokes for striking a loose impediment in a hazard with their swing, such as nearby reed if striking out of a shallow water hazard.

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
I went by the answers that

I went by the answers that came with the questions. They give me a link to check my answers with the correct ones. And for both questions they had a 2 stroke penallty. Not saying that they didn't make a mistake but that's what the link had to say for each of these questions. I do NOT remember what the link gave as the reasons for the ruleing, but in each case Larry would have been Improving his LIE, once by removing the dead mouse, and second by removing sand and dirt from the drop area.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.