Two more rules questions for you guys and Gals.

Did you see this golf club review?

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
DON
Two more rules questions for you guys and Gals.

Q. Larry chipped up onto the green leaving himself a 12-foot putt for eagle. In his excitement, he lifted his ball without first marking it,  and proceeded his ritual walk around the hole to read the green. Within seconds he recognized his error. Larry immediately went to replace his ball and mark its location. Larry knew approximately where his ball had been located, but, not the exact location.
       Scott said, "Sorry Larry, that's going to cost you two strokes, one-stroke penalty for lifting the ball without first marking it and one stoke for not replacing it in its exact original spot."

What is the correct ruling?

A. Two-stroke penalty, one for not marking the ball before picking it up and one for not be the exact spot to replace the ball on the green.
B. One-stroke penalty, one for not marking the ball before picking it up. Since Larry replaced the ball as close to the original spot to the best of his recollection, there is not an additional penalty.
C. Three-stoke penalty, two for not marking the ball before picking it up and one for replacing the ball in a spot that might not be the exact original spot.
D. No penalty. Larry almost immediately replaced his ball in almost the exact spot it had been before he picked it up.

 

Rules, rules, and more rules

 

Q. Larry makes a 40-foot lag putt on the green. His ball is off target and hits Scott's ball which is about 8 feet right and short of the hole, but also on the green. Larry's ball deflects off of Scott's ball and goes in the hole. Scott's ball was displaced about 5 feet. They are playing stroke play.

What is the correct ruling?

A. No Penalty. Larry holes out. Scott must replace his ball to its original position.
B. No Penalty. Larry holes out. Scott plays his ball as it lies, from the deflected position.
C. Larry incurs a one-stroke penalty. Both balls must be repositioned, and Larry must putt again.                                                                                                
D. Larry incurs a two-stroke penalty. Larry's ball is holed out. Scott must replace his ball to its original position.

 

Aimee
Aimee's picture
rules

I think the first one is a 3 stroke penalty - C

The second one is puzzling. I know that if something like this happens before the green (you probably wouldn't know), but on the green I feel like Larry doesn't get the benefit of the "bank shot". I'm going to say C for this one also.

It's not how...it's how many

scomac
scomac's picture
B -- without video

B -- without video confirmation there is no way of knowing that the ball wasn't placed back on the exact same spot.  It becomes a difference of opinion between two players.

C -- an old rule I surmise that has something to do with the stymie.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
I say : 

I say : 

Question 1:  B

Question 2: A

 

 

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
Correct answers are #1  B and

Correct answers are #1  B and #2  D So you gys got two correct answers this time. I must admit that I was surprised by the answer for # 2. I didn't think there would be a penalty for the ball hitting the other players ball by accident. 

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
So is the issue with #2 that

So is the issue with #2 that it's on the green?  I've seen balls hit where an approach shot hits another person's golf ball on the green and they don't penalize anyone and they replace the first ball as close as possible, playing the second from where it wound up.
So is the difference here, both were on the green to begin with and that's the difference?

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
Correct Scott. I was

Correct Scott. I was surprised about the penality as I would think if would be the golfer that did NOT mark his ball on the green that would get the penalty not the golfer whose's ball hit the other ball. IF Scott had marked his ball that Larry's ball could NOT have hit it, so Scott should get the penality if anyone if you ask me. But what do I know ?

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Aimee
Aimee's picture
marking

It is your responsibility to tell your opponent to mark their ball if they are on the green and you might hit them. Most people ask out of courtesy, but in a match that isn't assumed.

It's not how...it's how many

DON
Thanks Aimee; that's good to

Thanks Aimee; that's good to know. Not that I agree with it, but it's good to know the rule in this case. I wonder that the  rules say IF the oppenent refuses to mark his or her ball, and then it gets hit by another ball. Would it then be them that gets the two stroke penility ?

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.