Q. Larry's golf ball was lying in the rough, behind an immovable object, within a foot of the fairway. Larry declared that he was allowed to, and would, take relief from the immovable object. He picked up his ball, extended his arm and dropped the ball within one-club length of the nearest point of relief, but not nearer the hole. However, of the several areas of the arc he could have chosen, Larry picked an area that insured his ball would land in the fairway. Larry has been known to test the limits, and on occasion the spirit of the rules of golf. Scott thought this might be such an occasion and said, "Larry,no problem with taking relief, but you are in the rough and must stay in the rough. Relief from an obstruction does not mean you can also improve your lie." What is the correct ruling?
What is the correct ruling?
A. Scott is correct. Larry can not improve his lie while taking relief. He must re-drop his ball, his ball was laying in the rough and his relief drop must also be in the rough.
B. Larry did nothing wrong. In taking his relief, he was free to drop his ball anywhere within one-club length of the nearest point of relief, just as long as the ball was not dropped closer to the hole than the ball position from which he was taking relief.