Whats the penalty

Did you see this golf club review?

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Whats the penalty

Ok, you hit your drive...left near a road parallel to the hole you're playing.  Unaware your ball is out of bounds, you hit the ball and continue the hole, when your playing partner notifies you your ball was out of bounds.   What's your penalty?

 

a) 1 stroke - return to where the ball was, drop within 2 clubs of in bounds, take the 1 stroke penalty, ignoring the stroke taken while hitting the OB ball before,  and move on. Lying 2 hitting 3.

b) 2 strokes - Take the 1 stroke penalty plus a stroke for hitting a ball that's OK, and return to the tee for the stroke and distance penalty and try again.  Lying 3, hitting 4.

c) 3 strokes - 2 strokes for playing the wrong ball since your second shot was no longer a legit ball since it was OB.   Then tack on the stroke and distance penalty for hitting the orignal ball OB.  Return to the tee lying 4, hitting 5

cac
cac's picture
I think b. Cac

I think b. Cac

cac handed Geordie.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Anyone else?   I'll give it a

Anyone else?   I'll give it a few more Days.  I know Don's still doing his rehab.  He always likes rules questions..

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
Good Question Scott

I know that hitting the ball OB IS for sure both stroke and distance pelality. And I'm thinking that playing the ball from our of bounds might be another 2 stroke penality on top ot that. So I'll go with answer C.

ONE big problem with this issue is that going BACK to the tee box is NOT really an option for every day round of golf when you have a group of four behind you. Doing so would NOT be a way to make a lot of friends on the course. What would be nice would be if the USGA came up with a second option, where you just ADD a number of strokes to your score and play on. A LOCAL rule for this issue would be a good way to go for everyday rounds of golf I would think.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

cac
cac's picture
Agree Don, but I always say

Agree Don, but I always say if it could be ob then play a provisional. Always. Cac

cac handed Geordie.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
SO Don, you're right , the

SO Don, you're right , the answer is C.  The ball OB is now NOT your ball and hitting it a second time is considered playing the wrong ball, which is a 2 stroke penalty.  So you get one for hitting it OB, plus the distance penalty and then another 2 strokes for playing the "wrong" ball since it's OB and no longer in play.

Agree, there is a speed penalty as well for an OB ball so it's not usually practical during a weekend casual round.  Mostly we play it as the stroke penalty but not the distance.  In tournaments, we do it like you should but I tend to hit a provisional just in case..

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator