Willett's Master's winning gear

Did you see this golf club review?

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Willett's Master's winning gear

Danny Willett mounted an unorthodox Sunday charge at Augusta National to win his first Masters on Sunday. En route to a bogey-free, 5-under par 67, the Englishman didn’t look to have enough until a quadruple-bogey seven by then-leader Jordan Spieth transformed Willett from the chaser to the chased. The 28-year-old new father played the last six holes in 3-under par to claim his first major title. 

What’s In His Bag

Driver: Callaway XR 16 (9°, Mitsubishi Rayon Diamana White 60X shaft)

3-wood: Callaway XR 16 (15°, Mitsubishi Rayon Diamana White 70X shaft)

5-wood: Callaway XR 16 (19°, Mitsubishi Rayon Diamana White 80X shaft)

Irons: Callaway Apex Utility (2- and 4-iron; True Temper Dynamic Gold X100 Superlite shafts)

Callaway Apex Pro (5-9; True Temper Dynamic Gold X100 Superlite shafts)

Wedges: Callaway Mack Daddy 2 (47°, True Temper Dynamic Gold X100 Superlite shaft),

Callaway Mack Daddy 2 Tour Grind (54°, 58°, True Temper Dynamic Gold X100 Superlite shafts)

Putter: Odyssey Versa #1W (Black-White-Black)

Ball: Callaway SR3

 

http://golf.swingbyswing.com/article/tools-of-the-trade-danny-willetts-w...|_Willett%E2%80%99s_Winning_Clubs&utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_term=link-9

DON
Thanks Scott

Thanks for posting this info. This makes me ask two questions on high end golf equipment. One on the ball and one on the driver.

We all know that TaylorMade is the most used driver on tour and that Titleiest ProV1 and 1X is the most used ball on tour. My questions are this.  If the ProV1 balls are used by lets say 80 % of tour pros today, do the players using the ProV1 balls WIN about 80% of the tour events?? Or is the winnng numbers a lot LESS then 80%??

I will ask the same question about the TaylorMade drivers. Does the number of players using the TaylorMade drivers match or come close to matching the number of WINNERS on tour that play those same driver?  Is a TaylorMade driver in the bag of more winners on tour than any other driver on the market??. It would be nice to know the real numbers on tour, NOT just the most used driver and ball. but which one wins the most events. And then compare the number of wins to the number of players using them.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
So I found this Don:

So I found this Don:

 

Thus far in 2016, Titleist golf ball players have recorded 42 victories around the world, more than five times the nearest competitor with 7.

and 42 of 49 is a winning percentage of 86% ...   So that works. 

For Drivers, it's not as clear cut...

DRIVERS:
TITLEIST (6 Wins)
March 6, 2016: 915D2 (Adam Scott, Cadillac Championship)
February 28, 2016: 915D2 (Adam Scott, Honda Classic)
January 24, 2016: 910D2 (Jason Dufner, CareerBuilder Challenge)
January 10, 2016: 915D2 (Jordan Spieth, Hyundai Tournament of Champions)
November 9, 2015: 915D2 (Peter Malnati, Sanderson Farms Championship)
November 1, 2015: 915D4 (Justin Thomas, CIMB Classic)
 
TAYLORMADE (5 Wins)
April 3, 2016: M1 460 (Jim Herman, Shell Houston Open)
March 27, 2016: M1 460 (Jason Day, Dell Match Play)
March 20, 2016: M1 460 (Jason Day, Arnold Palmer Invitational)
February 14, 2016: R11 (Vaughn Taylor, AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am)
January 17, 2016: AeroBurner TP (Fabian Gomez, Sony Open in Hawaii
 
CALLAWAY (4 Wins)
April 10, 2016: XR 16 (Danny Willett, The Masters)
November 22, 2015: Great Big Bertha (Kevin Kisner, RSM Classic)
November 16, 2015: OptiForce 440 (Graeme McDowell, OHL Classic)
October 18, 2015: Big Bertha Alpha 815 Double Black Diamond (Emiliano Grillo, Frys.com Open) 
 
CLEVELAND (2 Wins)
November 8, 2015: Classic XL Custom (Russell Knox, HSBC Champions)
October 25, 2015: Classic 290 (Smylie Kaufman, Shriners Hospitals Open)    
 
NIKE (2 Wins)
March 27, 2016: Vapor Fly (Tony Finau, Puerto Rico Open)
March 13, 2016: Vapor Fly Pro (Charl Schwartzel, Valspar Championship)
 
PING (1 Win)
February 21, 2016: G (Bubba Watson, Northern Trust Open)

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

scomac
scomac's picture
Scott; that's only 20 winners

Scott; that's only 20 winners of the 49 tournaments played world wide.  Tough to draw any conclusions from such a small sample size.  Still, it makes you wonder with only a 25% success rate within the sample size it would be tough to make any sort of claim beyond most played driver on tour which I believe is Taylormade's claim.

FWIW I've had the M2 in my hands and it is the first TM driver in many years that made me smile.

DON
NOT good record for

NOT good record for TaylorMade if you ask me. So TM has won 5 times out of 49 tour events this years. For the number one used driver on tour, that's NOT a lot of wins. I'm sure not impressed by those numbers.

Thus far in 2016, Titleist golf ball players have recorded 42 victories around the world, more than five times the nearest competitor with 7.

and 42 of 49 is a winning percentage of 86% ...   So that works.

Are you sure about these numbers Scoot for ball wins?  According to your numbers ONLY Titleist and one other ball has a win this year. 42 for Titleist and 7 for their nearist competitor, that makes a total of 49, which is the total number of events, It's hard to imagine that no other ball has been played by the winners this year.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Well I haven't verified the

Well I haven't verified the numbers but that's what the article had.  And let's keep in mind, Titleist is probably the most played ball on the tour by a large margin...So it makes sense they'd have the majority of wins..

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

cac
cac's picture
What a load of balls lol. I

What a load of balls lol. I was looking at the stats and if Titliest had 100% of the balls they would win 100% of the time. If they had 0% of the balls they would win 0% of the time. They seem to have about 86% of the balls and they win 86% of the time. Does this not say that there is not a lot of difference between the high end balls of pros choice? As any sample of a given ball brand may correspond to the same % of tour wins. It may also correspond to the same % of the pro that came bottom after completing 4 rounds ie last after making the cut. CAC. Thoughts?

cac handed Geordie.

Scott Rushing
Scott Rushing's picture
Cac, I tend to agree with you

Cac, I tend to agree with you.  I think there's not a lot of difference in the tour quality balls.  More guys win with ProV balls because more of them play them.  Taylormade has the #1 driver due to their endorsement deals, Titleist is that way for their golf balls.  But I bet if you switched Jason Day to Taylormade's Tour ball, he'd probably still hit it 320 yards and still win events. 

Golf is a game that can only be played...

GolfGearReview.com Administrator

DON
I think it's the same for

I think it's the same for both balls and drivers. ALL of the  top brands are about equal in terms of quality, distance and forgiveness for drivers. And all of the tour quality balls go about the same distance and spin the same around the greens. The company the GIVES AWAY the ;most stuff wins the most event on average.

Don

Putting is easy if you have the Right Putter.